Back You are here: Home About Digital Ecosystems

Digital Ecosystems

The term “Digital Ecosystems” is defined as an open, loosely coupled, domain clustered, demand-driven, self-organising, collaborative environment, where each species is connected proactive and responsive; and conserve the environment for its own benefit or profit.
Digital Ecosystems are essentially about creating value by making connections in different domains; through adoption of the modern networked society and economy supported by different forms of digital infrastructure, services and collaborative technology frameworks. It lies at the intersection between industry, business, human endeavours, social science and cutting edge internet technologies and is application-driven research.
Digital ecosystems capture the essence of the classical, complex ecological environment in nature, where organisms form a dynamic and interrelated complex ecosystem. They conserve and utilise the environment and its resources. This analogy is a new mind-set and way of thinking in the Digital Economy. Digital ecosystems transcend the traditional, rigorously defined collaborative environments, such as centralised (client-server) or distributed models (such as peer-to-peer) or hybrid model (such as web services) into a self-organised, interactive environment which offers cost-effective services and value-creating activities that attract human, organisational and software agents that participate in and benefit from it.
The essence of digital ecosystems is addressing the balance, sustainability, self-organization, collective intelligence and creating value by making connections rather than unbridled competition.

 

We study the world we live in - The Digital Ecosystems


alt


The Next Wave


From Information Society to Digital Ecosystems



Digitize your mind, enable global knowledge

 

TCII Australian Office
TCII Chair: Professor Elizabeth Chang 
E-mail:  elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 0418 122 830,  +61 2626 88450

TCII Secretary: Dr. Omar Hussain
E-mail: O.Hussain@adfa.edu.au
Tel: +61 (2) 62688512

TCII Canada Office
Professor Bill Smyth
E-mail: smyth@mcmaster.ca
Tel: +1 905 523 7568, +1 905 525 9140

TCII Germany Office
Professor Achim Koduck
E-mail: Achim.Karduck@hs-furtwangen.de 
Tel: +49 7666913222

TCII Italy Office
Professor Ernesto Damiani
E-mail: ernesto.damiani@unimi.it 
Tel: +39 0373 898064

TCII Malaysia Office
Dr Vish Ramakonar
E-mail: vishram74@gmail.com 
Tel: +61 404 713 249

TCII China Office
Professor Jie Li
E-mail: liujie@fudan.edu.cn 
Tel: +86 25011243

TCII Japan Office
Associate Professor Kouji Kozaki
E-mail: kozaki@ei.sanken.osaka-u.ac.jp 
Tel: +81-6-6879-8416

TCII IT Support 
Dr Naeem Janjua
E-mail: n.janjua@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149

Web Master
Ms. Maryam Haddad
E-mail: maryam.haddadm@gmail.com
Tel: +61 2 626 88149, +61 (2) 62688512

Admin Support
Dr Sazia Parvin
E-mail: s.parvin@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149