Back You are here: Home Activity Industry Informatics Research SMART GRID

Smart Grid for Smart Home

Smart Grid is a novel initiative that aims to deliver energy to the users and also to achieve efficiency in its consumption by having a two-way communication. The smart grid architecture is a combination of various hardware devices; management and reporting software tools that are coupled together by the ICT infrastructure. This infrastructure is needed to make the smart grid sustainable, creative and intelligent. One of the main goals of smart grid is to achieve Demand Response (DR) by increasing the end users’ participation in decision making and increasing the awareness that will lead them to manage their energy consumption in an efficient way. The aim of this research is to develop an approach by which Demand Response is achieved on a continuous basis at the home level. To achieve this, the dynamic notion of price will be utilised to develop an intelligent decision-making model that will assist the users in achieving demand response.

TCII Australian Office
TCII Chair: Professor Elizabeth Chang 
E-mail:  elizabeth.chang@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 0418 122 830,  +61 2626 88450

TCII Secretary: Dr. Omar Hussain
E-mail: O.Hussain@adfa.edu.au
Tel: +61 (2) 62688512

TCII Canada Office
Professor Bill Smyth
E-mail: smyth@mcmaster.ca
Tel: +1 905 523 7568, +1 905 525 9140

TCII Germany Office
Professor Achim Koduck
E-mail: Achim.Karduck@hs-furtwangen.de 
Tel: +49 7666913222

TCII Italy Office
Professor Ernesto Damiani
E-mail: ernesto.damiani@unimi.it 
Tel: +39 0373 898064

TCII Malaysia Office
Dr Vish Ramakonar
E-mail: vishram74@gmail.com 
Tel: +61 404 713 249

TCII China Office
Professor Jie Li
E-mail: liujie@fudan.edu.cn 
Tel: +86 25011243

TCII Japan Office
Associate Professor Kouji Kozaki
E-mail: kozaki@ei.sanken.osaka-u.ac.jp 
Tel: +81-6-6879-8416

TCII IT Support 
Dr Naeem Janjua
E-mail: n.janjua@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149

Web Master
Ms. Maryam Haddad
E-mail: maryam.haddadm@gmail.com
Tel: +61 2 626 88149, +61 (2) 62688512

Admin Support
Dr Sazia Parvin
E-mail: s.parvin@unsw.edu.au 
Tel: +61 2 626 88149